No matter how often you proof-read an email and make sure everything sounds and looks okay, we’ve all experienced that moment of dread when after we click “Send”, we notice that there was an error or it was incomplete or you sent it to the wrong person.

Thankfully, Gmail is testing out a new feature where you can undo a sent email a few seconds after you press send. Currently, this feature is only available through web-mail (meaning not on any mobile apps), but it is still useful, nonetheless.

To enable “Undo send”, follow the instructions below:

While in your inbox, click the gear at the top right of your screen.

1

In the dropdown, select “Settings”.

2

Select the “Labs” tab.

3

Scroll down until you see the box labeled “Undo Send”. Click the button next to the word “Enable”. Scroll all the way down and click “Save Changes”.

4

Now when you send an email, you will see a notification at the top of your screen that looks like this:

5
Click “Undo” to pull the email right back into your inbox. You have up to 10 seconds to do this.

If you want to extend that time limit, simply click the gear, then click “Settings”, then under the “General” tab, you will see a section titled “Undo Send”. There, you will be able to select a cancellation period of either 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.

If you know of any other interesting and useful Gmail tips and tricks, let us know on Facebook! If you are having any email related troubles, contact us.

Get in touch for more information.

Working day in and day out to provide our community with the best service possible. Get in contact with us and see why CompuSys can help you and your business elevate to new heights.

Daytona Beach

  • 926 S Ridgewood Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32114
  • 386.238.1692
  • info@csidb.com